Craig Lockwood explains the cultural significance of the annual Brooks Street Pro-Am Classic, held every summer (when at least one swell arrives from the Southern Hemisphere) since 1955. Past winners and placers have included: Hobie Alter, Tom Morey, Mickey Munoz, Corky Smith, Dave Whitegon, John Creed, Howard Chapleau, Pat Tobin, Robin Calhoun, Ron Sizemore, Joey Cabell, Mike Haley, Corky Carroll, Billy Hamilton, Mike Armstrong and Brian Bulkley, all of whom lived in Laguna.